Teammates Until the Green Flag Falls: Allgaier Beats Sadler in Wild Finish

Justin Allgaier won the OneMain Financial 200 after 104 of 200 laps and winning stage two. The race featured eight cautions and a very close finish.

Polesitter Brandon Jones grabbed the lead on the initial start, but the caution came out on lap two as Matt Tifft went for a spin. Tifft didn’t hit anything. On the lap nine restart, Jones again cleared Elliott Sadler for the lead. By the time the race hit lap 15, Tyler Reddick, who started from the rear of the field after inspection issues during qualifying, was inside the top ten. On lap 23, Elliott Sadler caught and passed Brandon Jones for the lead. On lap 31, the caution came out again when Josh Bilicki had a left rear tire go down and slammed the wall.

When the green flag came out again, there were ten laps remaining in stage two. Sadler maintained the lead despite a challenge by teammate Justin Allgaier, and captured the stage win. On pit stops, Tyler Reddick’s crew had a stellar stop, getting him off pit road first after finishing the stage in fifth. Brandon Jones, however, was busted for speeding on pit road after finishing the first stage third. Ty Majeski and Matt Tifft stayed out after pitting during the lap 31 caution.

The race went back green on lap 53, and Majeski had a transmission issue on the restart, losing fourth gear. He pitted, and was forced to head behind the wall as the team discovered an axle issue on top of the transmission problem. Because of Majeski’s issues, Matt Tifft assumed the lead. Tifft, however, was quickly overtaken by Tyler Reddick. With 12 laps left in stage two, Justin Allgaier took the lead from Reddick. The lap was very eventful, as Ryan Reed and Noah Gragson got together, sending Reed into the wall. The caution came out several seconds later as Kaz Grala blew a tire, spun, and backed into the wall, ending his day. Under caution, Elliott Sadler pitted from fourth place, giving up valuable stage points.

The race went back green with six laps left in stage two, and Justin Allgaier easily jumped away from teammate Tyler Reddick. Allgaier would grab the stage win easily. The field pitted, and Allgaier maintained his position out front. Christopher Bell, who was running inside the top five, was busted for an uncontrolled tire and sent to the rear of the field. Brandon Jones and Jeb Burton stayed out.

Jones grabbed the lead on the restart and got away from second-place Elliott Sadler. Sadler got by Jones, but with 90 laps to go, Justin Allgaier got by Sadler for the lead. With 72 laps to go, Austin Cindric got into the back of John Hunter Nemechek, sending Nemechek into the wall and bringing out the yellow. The two had had contact shortly before the incident as they went three-wide with Johnny Sauter. Under yellow, Noah Gragson had a disastrous pit stop after pitting outside his block.

The restart came with 66 to go and it was Allgaier that prevailed over second-place teammate Elliott Sadler. With 57 laps left, Alex Labbe went around after getting bumped by Ryan Reed. Labbe avoided contact, but his right front tire shredded, destroying the fender and hood.

The race restarted with 50 to go, and Justin Allgaier grabbed the lead, but this time it was Daniel Hemric who got second. With 31 laps to go, Ty Majeski got turned around by Ryan Sieg, collecting Dylan Lupton. This brought out the eight caution of the day, and ended Ty Majeski’s day.

On the restart with 27 to go, Justin Allgaier prevailed, and Elliott Sadler grabbed second back from Daniel Hemric. Throughout the closing laps, Allgaier and Sadler battled, and, in the final corner, they made contact, but Allgaier held Sadler off despite hitting the wall exiting turn four.

The NASCAR XFINITY Series will be back on track on Saturday, May 26th, at 1 p.m. at Charlotte Motor Speedway for the Alsco 300.

Here are the full results from the OneMain Financial 200 at Dover International Speedway:

  1. Justin Allgaier
  2. Elliott Sadler
  3. Daniel Hemric
  4. Christopher Bell
  5. Tyler Reddick
  6. Johnny Sauter
  7. Noah Gragson
  8. Matt Tifft
  9. Austin Cindric
  10. Brandon Jones
  11. Ryan Truex
  12. Jeb Burton
  13. Cole Custer
  14. John Hunter Nemechek
  15. Michael Annett
  16. Ross Chastain
  17. Ryan Sieg
  18. Jeremy Clements
  19. Ryan Reed
  20. Joey Gase
  21. Alex Labbe
  22. Vinnie Miller
  23. BJ McLeod
  24. Dylan Lupton
  25. Chad Finchum
  26. David Starr
  27. Ray Black Jr.
  28. Brandon Brown
  29. Josh Bilicki
  30. Spencer Boyd
  31. Joe Nemechek
  32. Garrett Smithley (Suspension)
  33. Stephen Leicht (Vibration)
  34. Ty Majeski (Accident)
  35. Timmy Hill (Transmission)
  36. JJ Yeley (Vibration)
  37. Kaz Grala (Accident)
  38. Morgan Shepherd (Transmission)
  39. Carl Long (Brakes)
  40. Jeff Green (Vibration)

Leave a Reply