Sauter Dominates Wild Race at Dover

Johnny Sauter won the JEGS 200 at Dover International Speedway after leading 137 of 210 laps and winning stage two. The race featured seven cautions and one NASCAR overtime attempt.

As the race got underway, it was polesitter Noah Gragson who grabbed the lead, but on the frontstretch completing lap one, Stewart Friesen got loose and into Brett Moffitt. Friesen then spun across the track, but wasn’t hit again. Both drivers received moderate damage, but both continued.

On the lap 7 restart, Gragson again got away for the lead. On lap 11, Grant Enfinger made an unscheduled pit stop for a tire issue and fell two laps down. A few laps later, the yellow came out again as Myatt Snider clipped the apron and got up into Austin Hill, sending Hill backwards into the outside wall. The wreck ended Hill’s day, but Snider continued. The race restarted on lap 21, and Gragson continued to lead, followed by Kyle Busch Motorsports teammate Todd Gilliland. Gragson would lead the rest of the way and win stage one. On the ensuing pit stops, Gragson lost the lead due to a slow pit stop, allowing Parker Kligerman, who took fuel only, to grab the lead. Gragson also had contact with Ben Rhodes exiting pit road.

On the lap 53 restart, Kligerman was able to drive away from second-place Johnny Sauter. On lap 61, though, Sauter would get by Kligerman and grab the top spot. As the laps ticked away in stage two, second-place Kligerman began to have smoke come out of the back of the truck, but didn’t lose pace. NASCAR, though, black-flagged Kligerman and forced him to pit with four laps remaining in stage two. The issue would end Kligerman’s day. With two laps left in the stage, Josh Reaume crashed into the inside wall, bringing out the yellow. The stage, which Johnny Sauter won, ended under caution. The top few drivers maintain position through pit stops, with Sauter still up front, followed by Justin Haley.

On the lap 98 restart, Sauter took away the lead and drove away from Jesse Little, who took second place away from Justin Haley. With about 80 laps to go, Little grabbed the lead away from Sauter, but Sauter took it back after only a couple of laps. With 45 laps to go, Stewart Friesen blew a right front tire and slammed the outside wall. On pit stops, Jesse Little, who had been running second, was busted for pitting outside the box. That would bring a one-lap penalty upon Little. Sauter maintained the lead.

On the restart with 38 to go, Johnny Sauter grabbed the lead, but Noah Gragson stayed at his rear bumper for a few laps before Sauter drove away. Gragson, though, started to reel Sauter in as the laps ticked away. With 20 laps to go, Justin Fontaine and Jordan Anderson got together in front of the leaders, bringing out the caution. Under the yellow, Todd Gilliland had a battery die, and had to be pushed to pit road.

The restart came with 13 laps to go, and, after battling for a couple laps, Noah Gragson cleared Johnny Sauter, but Sauter didn’t let Gragson get away. Sauter heated Gragson up throughout the final laps, and, with two laps to go, Gragson got up into Sauter and spun, smashing the outside wall hard. This brought the race into NASCAR overtime.

On the overtime restart, Sauter prevailed after a challenge from second-place Matt Crafton. Sauter would take the checkered flag to win his second race of the season.

The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series will be back on track on Friday, May 11 at 8:30 p.m. eastern time at Kansas Speedway for the 37 Kind Days 250.

Below are the full results from the JEGS 200 at Dover International Speedway:

  1. Johnny Sauter
  2. Matt Crafton
  3. Justin Haley
  4. David Gilliland
  5. Harrison Burton
  6. Cody Coughlin
  7. Joe Nemechek
  8. Ben Rhodes
  9. Jesse Little
  10. Todd Gilliland
  11. Myatt Snider
  12. Brett Moffitt
  13. Dalton Sargeant
  14. Grant Enfinger
  15. Austin Wayne Self
  16. Tanner Thorson
  17. Wendell Chavous
  18. Jordan Anderson
  19. Justin Fontaine
  20. Noah Gragson
  21. Korbin Forrister
  22. Jennifer Jo Cobb
  23. Stewart Friesen
  24. Mike Harmon
  25. Josh Reaume
  26. Bayley Currey
  27. Norm Benning
  28. Parker Kligerman
  29. Camden Murphy
  30. Reed Sorenson
  31. Austin Hill
  32. Todd Peck

Leave a Reply