Hemric Wins XFINITY ‘Dega Pole

Daniel Hemric won the pole for the Sparks Energy 300 at Talladega Superspeedway with a lap time of 50.559 seconds, 0.168 seconds in front of second-place Elliott Sadler. Sadler, though, will start from the rear due to an engine change. The session contained no incidents and consisted of single-car runs, rather than the typical group qualifying format. There were two rounds, the first having all 40 cars, and the second having the fastest 12 running for the pole.

In the first round, Daniel Hemric ran fastest, with a lap of 50.640 seconds. No Joe Gibbs Racing cars were among the top 12, but all four JR Motorsports cars were able to advance. Also among the fast 12 were John Hunter Nemechek, Ryan Truex, and Spencer Gallagher. Morgan Shepherd failed to qualify.

In the second round, Hemric again lit up the scoring sheet, gaining nearly a tenth of a second on his first round time. Hemric was followed by Elliott Sadler, Spencer Gallagher, and John Hunter Nemechek.

The Sparks Energy 300 at Talladega Superspeedway will take place at 2 p.m. eastern time on Saturday afternoon.

Here is the full starting lineup for the Sparks Energy 300:

  1. Daniel Hemric
  2. Elliott Sadler
  3. Spencer Gallagher
  4. John Hunter Nemechek
  5. Michael Annett
  6. Justin Allgaier
  7. Shane Lee
  8. Tyler Reddick
  9. Ryan Truex
  10. Matt Tifft
  11. Austin Cindric
  12. Cole Custer
  13. Christopher Bell
  14. Ty Majeski
  15. Brandon Jones
  16. Chase Briscoe
  17. Dylan Lupton
  18. Joey Gase
  19. Ryan Reed
  20. Noah Gragson
  21. Alex Labbe
  22. Ryan Sieg
  23. Joe Nemechek
  24. Jeremy Clements
  25. Vinnie Miller
  26. Ross Chastain
  27. JJ Yeley
  28. Tommy Joe Martins
  29. BJ McLeod
  30. Spencer Boyd
  31. Josh Williams
  32. Josh Bilicki
  33. Kaz Grala
  34. Garrett Smithley
  35. Jeff Green
  36. Chad Finchum
  37. David Starr
  38. Timmy Hill
  39. Jennifer Jo Cobb
  40. Mike Harmon

Leave a Reply