Harvick Sweeps Rounds; Wins Pole at Talladega

Kevin Harvick won the pole for the Geico 500 at Talladega Superspeedway by running a time of 49.340 seconds. This is Harvick’s first pole of 2018, and the 22nd of his career. The session was stopped once for an incident. It consisted of two rounds: a full-field first round and a 12-car final round. The session was made up of single-car runs, since Talladega is a restrictor-plate track.

In the first round, Aric Almirola had a left rear tire go down during his run. He finished his lap far off the pace, then spun in turns one and two. Kevin Harvick had left pit road when Almirola had his issues, and ran over some debris. When the red flag came out for the incident, Harvick returned to pit road and made repairs. Ty Dillon, who was preparing to leave pit road and make his run, had some issues with a wiring harness inside the car, delaying his run as well. Both cars made it out on track and Kevin Harvick ended the round fastest, with a lap time of 49.291 seconds.

In the second and final round, Kevin Harvick was fastest once again, running a time of 49.340 seconds. Teammate Kurt Busch ran about a tenth slower in second.

The Geico 500 at Talladega Superspeedway will take place at 2 p.m. eastern time on Sunday afternoon.

The full lineup for the Geico 500 is listed below:

  1. Kevin Harvick
  2. Kurt Busch
  3. Martin Truex Jr.
  4. Denny Hamlin
  5. Chase Elliott
  6. Erik Jones
  7. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  8. Clint Bowyer
  9. Joey Logano
  10. Brad Keselowski
  11. Alex Bowman
  12. David Ragan
  13. Paul Menard
  14. Daniel Suarez
  15. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  16. Jimmie Johnson
  17. William Byron
  18. Ryan Newman
  19. Kyle Busch
  20. Michael McDowell
  21. Trevor Bayne
  22. Kyle Larson
  23. Ryan Blaney
  24. Austin Dillon
  25. Chris Buescher
  26. Kasey Kahne
  27. Jamie McMurray
  28. AJ Allmendinger
  29. Ty Dillon
  30. Brendan Gaughan
  31. D.J. Kennington
  32. Timothy Peters
  33. Matt DiBenedetto
  34. Joey Gase
  35. Ross Chastain
  36. Cole Whitt
  37. Gray Gaulding
  38. Reed Sorenson
  39. Timmy Hill
  40. Aric AlmirolaMonster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Food City 500 - Practice

Leave a Reply