Busch Completes Three-peat at Richmond

Kyle Busch won the Toyota Owners 400 at Richmond Raceway. It’s his third win in a row after starting the race 32nd. Busch led 32 of 402 laps en route to the victory. Joey Logano grabbed both the stage wins and finished fourth.

As the green flag waved for the first time, polesitter Martin Truex Jr. took the lead as Kyle Larson grabbed second, getting by Joey Logano and Chase Elliott. After Truex was able to lead for a while, Joey Logano jumped by him and took the lead away as Kyle Larson faded, drifting all the way outside the top ten. Logano won stage one, followed by a hard-charging Aric Almirola, who had moved from a 25th-place starting position.

On pit stops, though, Almirola had a bad stop, dropping him back to sixth. Logano and the others, though, kept their positions. Kevin Harvick, who finished stage one tenth, served a penalty for his crew throwing equipment. Kyle Larson was penalized for an uncontrolled tire.

On the lap 112 restart, Kurt Busch grabbed the top spot using the outside lane. With about 30 laps remaining in stage two, Clint Bowyer got by his teammate for the lead, but Busch didn’t let Bowyer go easy, hounding him for several laps, but Logano quickly appeared in Busch’s mirror, diverting his attention from Bowyer. Logano got by Busch about ten laps after Busch lost the lead. Logano then got by Bowyer with only a handful of laps left in stage two. Logano was once again able to win the stage.

On pit stops, Joey Logano maintained the lead and Kurt Busch jumped a couple of positions to second. William Byron, who finished fifth in stage two, was busted for speeding on pit road. Teammate Alex Bowman was also busted for speeding, and Ryan Newman was caught for an uncontrolled tire.

Kurt Busch again prevailed on the restart to begin stage three. However, Clint Bowyer took the lead from his teammate with around 150 laps remaining. With around 130 laps left, everyone came down pit road under green. Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Darrell Wallace Jr., and Austin Dillon were penalized for commitment line violations, while Daniel Suarez was busted for speeding. Kurt Busch had pit gun issued as Suarez hit his air hose for the pit gun. Busch fell to ninth recovering from that. When stops cycled through, Martin Truex Jr. was in front of Clint Bowyer. With under 90 laps remaining, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. slammed the wall, but continued, and the race stayed green.

With 77 laps remaining, Kevin Harvick got by Truex for the lead, and Bowyer followed his teammate to grab second. As the race eclipsed 70 laps to go, the final round of green flag pit stops began. Ryan Blaney was penalized for an uncontrolled tire, while Kyle Larson missed on his first attempt to hit pit road. When the stops cycled through, Truex was back up front, followed by Bowyer and Harvick. With 47 laps remaining, Ryan Blaney and Cole Whitt made contact and spun, collecting Ricky Stenhouse.

After pit stops, Truex emerged up front, while Bowyer fell from second to fourth. On the restart, Truex got a big launch, legging out a quick lead. Kyle Busch grabbed second from Harvick. With 33 laps left, Jamie McMurray and Ryan Newman slammed the wall after McMurray had contact with Kurt Busch. The wreck ended Newman’s race. Inexplicably, teammates McMurray and Kyle Larson door slammed under caution, with McMurray being the instigator.

On yellow flag pit stops, Kyle Busch got off pit road first followed by Denny Hamlin as Truex fell to third and Harvick fell to fourth. The race restarted with 22 laps remaining, and Kyle Busch jumped away as Truex grabbed second from Hamlin. Daniel Suarez, Erik Jones, Jimmie Johnson, and Aric Almirola all bounced off one another, but somehow managed not to wreck. With 11 to go, David Ragan spun into the outside wall after cutting a tire while running 15th, bringing out the caution.

As the field pitted one final time, Martin Truex Jr. had a bad pit stop, causing him to fall from second to ninth. The restart came with six to go, and Kyle Busch again got away for the lead. However, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. slammed the wall, bringing out the caution again and causing overtime.

On the restart, Busch again jumped away and was able to grab the win. Chase Elliott finished second for the eighth time in his career.

The next time the Cup Series will be racing is at Talladega Superspeedway on Sunday, April 29, at 1 p.m. eastern time.

Here are the full results from the Toyota Owners 400 at Richmond Raceway:

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Chase Elliott
  3. Denny Hamlin
  4. Joey Logano
  5. Kevin Harvick
  6. Jimmie Johnson
  7. Kyle Larson
  8. Brad Keselowski
  9. Clint Bowyer
  10. Daniel Suarez
  11. Kurt Busch
  12. William Byron
  13. Erik Jones
  14. Martin Truex Jr.
  15. Austin Dillon
  16. Matt DiBenedetto
  17. Aric Almirola
  18. Alex Bowman
  19. Jamie McMurray
  20. Ty Dillon
  21. Trevor Bayne
  22. Ryan Blaney
  23. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  24. Paul Menard
  25. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  26. Chris Buescher
  27. AJ Allmendinger
  28. Ross Chastain
  29. Kasey Kahne
  30. Cole Whitt
  31. Michael McDowell
  32. Daniel Hemric
  33. David Ragan
  34. Landon Cassill
  35. Gray Gaulding
  36. Harrison Rhodes
  37. Ryan Newman
  38. Reed Sorenson

Leave a Reply