Truex Wins Third Pole of 2018 at Richmond

Martin Truex Jr. won the pole for the Toyota Owners 400 at Richmond Raceway. It’s Truex’s 18th career pole and third of 2018. Saturday night will be his 450th career Cup Series start. Truex is looking for his second win of 2018.

In the first round, Martin Truex Jr. was fastest with a time of 21.752 seconds. Rookie William Byron was second, less than half a tenth behind Truex. Aric Almirola (25th), Daniel Suarez (26th), Brad Keselowski (28th), and last week’s winner Kyle Busch (32nd) all failed to make the second round.

In the second round, Denny Hamlin ran a lap of 21.691 seconds to lead the round, followed by Chase Elliott only seven thousandths of a second behind. Notables that weren’t able to run for the pole were Ryan Blaney (13th), Clint Bowyer (16th), Jimmie Johnson (17th), Paul Menard (20th), and Daniel Hemric (22nd). Hemric will make his Cup Series debut in the No. 8 Chevy Camaro for Richard Childress Racing on Saturday night.

In the final round, Martin Truex Jr. ran a 21.799 second lap, which was good for the pole. Chase Elliott ran a half a tenth behind Truex. Elliott was followed closely by third-place Joey Logano.

The Toyota Owners 400 will take place at 6:30 p.m. eastern time on Saturday night.

Here is the full starting lineup for the Toyota Owners 400 at Richmond Raceway:

  1. Martin Truex Jr.
  2. Chase Elliott
  3. Joey Logano
  4. Denny Hamlin
  5. Kyle Larson
  6. Kurt Busch
  7. Erik Jones
  8. Jamie McMurray
  9. William Byron
  10. Kevin Harvick
  11. Alex Bowman
  12. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  13. Ryan Blaney
  14. Ryan Newman
  15. David Ragan
  16. Clint Bowyer
  17. Jimmie Johnson
  18. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  19. Chris Buescher
  20. Paul Menard
  21. Trevor Bayne
  22. Daniel Hemric
  23. Austin Dillon
  24. Michael McDowell
  25. Aric Almirola
  26. Daniel Suarez
  27. Matt DiBenedetto
  28. Brad Keselowski
  29. Kasey Kahne
  30. Ross Chastain
  31. Ty Dillon
  32. Kyle Busch
  33. AJ Allmendinger
  34. Gray Gaulding
  35. Cole Whitt
  36. Landon Cassill
  37. Reed Sorenson
  38. Harrison Rhodes

Leave a Reply